Yarn Along & Stuck in the Mud

IMG_5855 IMG_5857

I am almost ready to bind off the top and add the thumb to my first Moira Mitt! Teal has asked for them, but I was really knitting them for myself! They may become a shared item, even though I’m sure they would look cuter on her.

As a recommendation from my husband’s sister-in-law, I just finished reading Edenbrooke and Blackmoore, both by Julianne Donaldson (who happens to be a local author.) I have never been a romance reader, but these sweet little romances were enjoyable and so quick to read. I haven’t stayed up late reading for years, but I finished Blackmoore at 1am, knowing I would regret it when I had to get up this morning.

Did you notice the lovely gourd in the first photo? Our homeschool coop met at a pumpkin farm this morning, and not only was I feeling rushed (because I stayed up too late reading, maybe?) but I drove my rental car (the minivan is in the shop because someone rear-ended me) right into a gushy, smooshy pile of mud and couldn’t get it out! We missed the hay ride with our friends while I used a child’s toy shovel that was missing half of the blade (what farm doesn’t have a REAL shovel?!) to dig my tires out. The farmer was kind enough to come push me out of the mud when the hay ride was over, so I was very grateful for that.

Joining Ginny today.

8 thoughts on “Yarn Along & Stuck in the Mud

  1. motheringwithmindfulness

    That mitt is awesome, and so is the gourd. Yikes on the mud, not fun. I laughed out loud thinking of you digging out with a kid sized shovel missing half a blade…to funny. Glad you got out eventually.

    And sorry to hear about the rear end…hope you are alright.

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Sarah! Since I quit Facebook, you are one of the people I’ve honestly missed seeing updates from! I hope your family is doing well and the girls are having a good year.

      Reply
      1. ponderosatree

        I’m so glad you keep this blog so I can see what you and yours are up to! I keep thinking about a blog, but that’s as far as I’ve gone. My little family is doing well. We’re just plugging along, getting our garden tucked in for the winter and hiking when we can. We did our first real backpacking trip with the whole family (3 days in the Sawtooths) just before school started. We had rain, sleet, hail, lightning, and a wonderful time.

      2. Mrs. Mallard Post author

        Haha! It sounds like quite an adventure! Your girls are sure lucky, what wonderful memories they will have. I didn’t write much about my garden this year. I did get tomatoes which was fun, but it was the first year we’ve had a fence and our dogs could be out in the yard. Our lab managed to eat most of what was harvestable. My brain is spinning trying to come up with a plan to keep things out of dog reach next year. Love, Rachel

  2. melanie

    I hadn’t heard of those mitts but now I have them favourited on Ravelry and am looking through my yarn for something that might work. My oldest daughter’s name is Moira and she would love these. And yeah, I find that even at age six I make stuff for me and end up letting her have it because it just looks so much better on her. Ah, the beauty of youth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

