Sixth Grade Physics

IMG_4561 IMG_4562 IMG_4565 IMG_4566 IMG_4567 IMG_4568 IMG_4570IMG_5595 IMG_5597 IMG_5598 IMG_5601 IMG_5603 IMG_5604The sixth grade physics block was amazing! The only resource I used was Trostli’s Physics is Fun!, which I can’t recommend highly enough. The lessons were well explained and there was plenty to do. My only complaint, if I can call it that, was that it was hard to choose which experiments to leave out! We did not do the beautiful Chladni plates experiment, but aside from the Chladni plates, I found that most items for the lessons were things I had on hand or could substitute fairly easily. Teal recorded experiments and information in a small main lesson book.

We only made it through the chapters on Sound, Light, and Heat. I was prepared with all of the items for Magnetism, but we ran out of time. I plan to finish that and Electricity as part of seventh grade physics.

I managed to shatter a glass aquarium during one of the light lessons. Thank goodness we were outside working and not in the kitchen. I would have been finding glass shards for weeks!

Thanks for visiting!

12 thoughts on “Sixth Grade Physics

  1. Kim

    Looks like a ton of fun. Love the first photos with the colour pigment, and so nice to get a peek into their main lesson books.

    Reply
  2. Sheila / Sure as the World

    I have resisted buying this book for 2 years now . . . I think you may have pushed me over the edge!
    I have to say, I love your block recaps (especially the ones for grade 3!) such great ideas and I like being able to peek across the country and see what’s going on in your pond. LOL

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Sheila, I’m so glad you are finding helpful ideas! It makes me happy to know that. 🙂

      Don’t feel compelled to rush out and buy Physics is Fun! I was really gushing over the sixth grade section (I should have specified), but I haven’t even read through the seventh and eighth grade sections, yet. I did notice today that one of the mainstays of seventh grade physics – examining the remains of things burned in a fire – is not even in the book. I’m for sure going to do that a la Simmons’ Nature Stories to Natural Science and A Little Garden Flowers’ seventh grade guide.

      Have a great weekend! ~Rachel

      Reply
  3. Jean

    I too found this book great and so do-able at home! Lots of fun…my own memory of high school physics is of the teacher setting up demonstrations and me being ever so bored! I used the Trostli book in combination with Eric Fairman’s Path of Discovery (lots of science in his sixth and seventh grade guides) and found that to be a great combo. Love your photos of the powdered pigments in the jars of water!

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Thanks Jean! I did order Fairman’s seventh grade book for this coming year. Both his book and the Trostli book leave out the experiments centered around burning organic matter and examining the ashes. Did you do something similar? I think my children would really enjoy that!

      Reply
  4. Jean

    I did do that and it was a great experience. My daughter really enjoyed it; she even chose some of the material to burn and drew great pictures of the different matter. I cannot remember what resource I used though! I was thinking it was in the Fairman book. You know what…it might be in Fairman’s sixth grade book. I will have a look and let you know!

    Reply
  5. licoricelovinglady

    Hello Duck Family! I haven’t “seen” you in this space for a while – I hope you are all doing well and that Teal has settled into school. I am finally planning my 6th grade physics block and wanted to ask a question about your post – what did you use for the pigments? It looks like you crushed something then dropped the particles into the water. Is it chalk pastel? Thank you, and love to you all. Cathy

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Cathy! It has been so long! In the first few photos, we crushed colored chalk and mixed it together by hand on white paper. In the photos of the water, we just dropped liquid food coloring into the water and lined the different colored water up to see how the colors combined. Thank you for taking the time to ask. I hope all is well! -Rachel

      Reply
      1. licoricelovinglady

        Hi Rachel,

        I don’t know if you will get this e-mail. Modern technology is not my strong suit LOL!

        I noticed today that your blog has been taken down. I just wanted to let you know that you sharing your homeschooling journey with me really helped me a lot, and I loved reading your blog posts. I’ve noticed that there are fewer and fewer Waldorf homeschool bloggers now (at least none that turn up in google searches), and, although I totally understand why people are reluctant to blog – I don’t blog myself for a variety of reasons even though I have things to say and enjoy the writing process and frequently consider writing a blog, but I always decide against it – I really miss reading my favourite blogs.

        So I thank you so much for putting yourself out there and being brave enough to blog – I will miss you!

        Love,

        Cathy

        >

  6. licoricelovinglady

    Yes, all is well this end. We had a brilliant year in 5th, which is interesting because I felt so worn out and under-prepared and overwhelmed when we started. Plus we had lots of sickness (nothing serious, colds, and the flu, and dh hurt is back which took priority of everything else) so we got really behind but in the end it was very liberating because I realised that it was ok and now I no longer feel that pressure to “keep up” or do Waldorf “just so”. The world didn’t end because we did things differently! The experience has re-wired my brain (thank goodness) and I’m a lot more relaxed about homeschooling. Yay!

    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I did wonder how the chalk turned to liquid! Now it all makes sense. 🙂

    Cathy xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

