It’s About Time

I did it. I quit Facebook. I downloaded my Facebook history for posterity’s sake and I pushed the deactivate account button. I did it because I realized very clearly that I was wasting my time. I was compelled to scroll through my news feed every free second I had (first thing in the morning, last thing at night, and most free seconds of the day!) and by doing so I was shortchanging myself; giving up on little bits of time to interact with my children, to do housework, to knit, to read, to sit in silence. I also felt myself slipping farther and farther away from being engaged in meaningful work for my children to imitate.

I may sound overdramatic to you, but it was very clear personal inspiration to me: It’s about time. Every individual has 24 hours in a day, and it is better to use those hours purposefully.

 

Time flies on wings of lightning;

We cannot call it back.

It comes, then passes forward

Along its onward track.

And if we are not mindful,

The chance will fade away,

For life is quick in passing.

‘Tis as a single day.

From “Improve the Shining Moments by Robert B. Baird

~Rachel

3 thoughts on “It’s About Time

  1. Kim

    Good for you! I deactivated at the beginning of August, with the intention of returning in September. I had wanted to do it for a while, but I kept telling myself I needed those Facebook groups I belong to. Turns out I don’t need them. Not missing FB at all, and at this moment, have no plans to return.

    Enjoy your extra time 🙂

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      I’m glad to know I’m in good company Kim! There are only a handful of people I will really miss updates from, but I’m hoping to stay better in touch in real life.

      I was just thinking about how much I need an organic gardening mentor. I haven’t searched your blog for this information, yet, but I’d love to know how you keep your soils replenished, how often you apply fertilizer if any, etc. I’m getting ready to put in some fall plants, but I feel like I may need to amend my soil for best growth. I’d love to hear your thoughts – either here or email @ toducksinthepond(at)gmail(dot)com. Thank you!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Our Lives | Ducks in the Pond

Leave a Reply

