European Geography

IMG_5112  IMG_5113IMG_5115

IMG_5116 IMG_4527

European Geography was a natural fit for sixth grade. It was helpful to study the lands in which all of the Roman and Medieval history took place. I also happened to accidentally align the European Geography block with the Sochi Winter Olympics so we could see athletes and flags and hear stories and anthems from many of the countries we were studying. Yay for awesome coincidences!

Donna Simmons makes useful suggestions about how to structure this block in her free Rough Guide to Sixth Grade, but oh, how I wish Live-Ed would start selling their books individually rather than in grade packages! I would love to have seen their European Geography book. (I think they would actually get A LOT of business that way!)

In addition to using Donna’s suggestions, here are some other resources I used.

  • National Geographic has online lesson plans for European Geography. We used some of the maps and information sheet from Activity 1 .
  • One of my favorite things was a Relief Map of Europe that Teal drew into her MLB. Then, on a piece of clear plastic she drew the country borders so we could overlay the country borders and the relief map.
  • I found Teri’s post to be lovely and I had Teal do some of the paintings Teri shares. (I am not including Teal’s paintings here, because they are copies of Teri’s work.)
  • Teal completed this project from the Cedarwood Waldorf School. I used a word program to cut and paste the assignment sheet so it read for a single student and handed it to her! I gave her one week to complete all the research, rough drafts, and crafting. She chose to study Spain; writing a ten paragraph essay, drawing a map of Spain and completing an artistic activity of her choosing. (She chose to make a straw donkey with little clay pots.) Then she presented her work to our immediate family and four grandparents as an oral report.

I would love to hear your favorite activities or suggestions for a European Geography block! Thank you for reading, and if you would like to see all of our work, please consider signing up for emails (on the right) or following via WordPress. Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “European Geography

  1. Tanya

    I used Live Ed’s Geography book as the back bone for my block. It was a last minute borrow from a friend and so I didn’t have a chance to really sit down with it beforehand. To be honest, it left a lot to be desired! It was nice to have a good reference for most of the countries right there, but it was a bit on the dry side and the activities weren’t very inspiring…disappointing for sure. I added to our block by listening to music, cooking and playing a geography game. My son also did a creative piece of writing in addition to his country project (also gleaned from the same website!). Hope this makes you feel a bit better in that regards and I totally agree with you on Live Ed…they would get so much more business if they started selling individual resources!

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Tanya, Thanks so much for your comment! It sounds like your block was great! What geography game did you play? It’s nice to hear about your experience with the Live Ed. book. I always wonder what I am missing out on with their resources because no one near me has a book I can look through! Best, Rachel

      Reply

Leave a Reply

