Hi!

IMG_3248 IMG_3249 IMG_3252 IMG_3258 IMG_3259 IMG_3262

While I was away, we finished our school year!  That makes three and a half years of homeschooling for us.  It feels great.  For our last day of school we visited the botanical garden, ate lunch at a downtown restaurant, and watched the BBC’s “The Wind in the Willows” which we had just finished listening to on Audible.  (I read the first two-thirds out loud, but got it on Audible so we could listen to the rest on a few long car rides and while we did handwork!)

IMG_3302

IMG_3300

The garden is growing.  In addition to the two 4′ X 4′ gardens, I added some steel buckets. My favorite thing right now is going out to water in the morning and having Wigeon ask, “Can I have some peas?”  I am happy to oblige, and after unzipping the pod, I love to gaze down at her small fingers picking out the peas so carefully to pop in her mouth.  It is pure sweetness.

IMG_3299

When school ends, I feel an overwhelming urge to clean the house out.  We have gone through all clothes and drawers to determine what to keep and what to give away.  I also decided to overhaul our book collection.  I gathered every single book in our house (minus the ones I keep for homeschooling which are nicely organized in my “school cupboards”) and I lined them up in color order on our bookshelves.  I love it!  I’ve been keeping books organized by genre my entire life, but this is so fun and it truly (and amazingly) seems easy to find them.  I’ve decided these bookshelves are going to be our book limit. If it doesn’t fit on the shelf, it isn’t kept.  At least that’s what I envision.

What have you been up to?

2 thoughts on “Hi!

  1. Sheila

    I have missed you!!!

    Thank you so much for mentioning The Wind and the Willows production. That is one of Jude’s favorite books (we have it on audio, although it pained me to find out it is an abridged version) and I will check out the version on Audible as well.

    I think that is a common impulse – the cleaning out of the stuff. I have two built in bookshelves in our nook downstairs and if it doesn’t fit, it doesn’t stay. I have really let go of my attachment to books over the years. I have one shelf of poetry collections, a few (very few) novels and some art books – that is really all I need.

    I am still working on the schoolroom clean out – then comes the painting. Yay!! I hope to find the perfect butter yellow, but this color seems to always elude me. I hope I don’t fall back on my 2 standards: putty or light green. We’ll see.

    Hope your summer is fabulous!
    Sheila

    Reply
    1. Mrs. Mallard Post author

      Dear Sheila, Good luck finding the right butter yellow! I just recycled all of my House Beautiful magazines or I would send you a suggestion. They give the best color choices!

      We got an unabridged version of The Wind in the Willows narrated by Jim Weiss. It was very well done in my opinion. I tried to read the Wind in the Willows as a child, but couldn’t get through it. I’m glad to have made it through as an adult.

      Hugs,
      Mrs. Mallard

      Reply

Leave a Reply

