Fourteen Days to School

I scheduled our school year to begin on August 20th, and I can’t believe that is just two weeks away!  My thinking was to have all planning and preparations complete by the end of July and take the first three weeks in August off as a complete break, but you know what they say about the best laid plans.

Thankfully, today I completed our morning plans by scheduling our opening songs, the scriptures we will be working on, and the songs and finger-plays for Wigeon, my toddler, for the year.  The only thing still floating around in my brain is our actual daily schedule.  I mean, I have a basic idea of how our day will progress, but it just doesn’t feel complete quite yet.  I need to sit down and finalize our days – and what each child will be doing at certain times.  I’m most concerned about having things for the older kids to do with Wigeon each day that will allow me to have as-uninterrupted-as-possible main lessons.

Speaking of Wigeon, today she woke up with me at my new earlier time (Day 8 of 40!)  She quickly fell asleep in  my arms, and although I didn’t get some of my morning chores done as intended, I loved watching her sleep.

IMG_2020

Here we are a little later waiting for big sister to finish piano lessons.

IMG_2029

IMG_2033

IMG_2036

IMG_2043

When does your school year start?  Have a nice evening!

Mrs. Mallard

 

3 thoughts on “Fourteen Days to School

  1. Lisa

    We’re starting August 22nd, so right after you. Our public schools start Aug 21, so we are celebrating that as “not back to school” day and will do something fun, not sure what yet. I’m not quite ready, but I can see the end in sight.

    Reply
  2. Sheila

    We are beginning August 20 as well. I am still tinkering with our daily/weekly rhythm. Glad you are finding peace in the early morning. I don’t know what I did before. I crave my morning time alone. Also I love your Friday photos (yay!). It is so good to see and remember.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

