Our First Harvest

If you’ve visited me here before, you know that this is the first year I’ve ever tried to grow a garden.  I planted everything from seed, and my hope was to have at least a quarter of the plants grow!  One of my beds is doing pretty well and the other not so well.  Here is the bed that’s doing well.

IMG_1654

Starting in the top left I have tomato times 2, brussels sprouts X 2, onions X 2, spinach X 2, yellow squash, red sails lettuce, salad bowl lettuce, cucumber, zucchini, butterhead lettuce X2, zucchini.

The lettuce has grown easily and finally reached maturity!  Everyone wanted to be part of the  harvest, so Teal, Pintail, and I each chose a type of lettuce and pulled it out.

  IMG_1663

IMG_1666

We had Cobb Salads for dinner.  (Ever since a friend in Georgia recommended these, I love serving them!  I try to make sure there are plenty of fixins, especially proteins, so everyone feels satisfied.)

IMG_1667

IMG_1668

YUM!  I’m not exagerating when I say the lettuce was fabulous!  Fresh lettuce tastes a billion times better than bagged or store bought lettuce in my opionion.  Even my kids eat it up.

And the other bed… Poor thing.  It is lacking sun – and gets over-watered by the sprinklers.  The carrots in the bottom left square are the only things that look really “good.”  I have also had some bug problems, and leaves that seems to be turning brown or yellow and dying. But it’s just the first year, right?!

IMG_1658
From the top left this bed contains peas and spinach X 2, basil, thyme, cabbage X 2, cauliflower X 2, brocolli X 2, kale X2, carrots X 2, and leeks X2.

Any tips for organic pesticides?  How often and long do you water your garden?

Thanks for stopping by today!!

6 thoughts on “Our First Harvest

  1. Rosemary

    Looks great, Rachel! I too have been gardening for the first time this year, and I love it! I got some great salad green seeds from tmseed.com called “speedy salad greens.” They can even grow inside in a window all winter! They mature in a few weeks, so I’ve been eating them for months already and just keep planting more. I just found some caterpillars on my tomatoes this evening (I grew them from seed and I LOVE them and I am NOT going to feed them to the caterpillars!). I found some organic remedies on veggiegardner.com. Haven’t tried yet, but am about too! Good luck!

    Reply
  2. JustToSay

    Hi Rosemary! Wow the fast salad greens sound cool. I’ll check them out. As an organic pesticide my mother-in-law recommended Food Grade Diotemaceous Earth. I’m going to give it a try this week. Here’s a you tube video about it.



    I really don’t mind bugs, but when stuff starts to get ruined, they’ve got to go!
    Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Becca

    Your greens look yummy! I was excited to see you are a square foot gardener too and a newbie. Me also. This is our first year of “real” gardening. last year I had a tiny in ground bed that I mostly ignored. I can’t give you much advice but I can say that I had a horrible failure w/a garden bed that was getting watered by a sprinkler. It was just too much water. We are in the Southwest and so have to water twice a day.
    Fun to have found you.

    Reply
  4. JustToSay

    Hi Becca! It’s nice to meet another new gardener! I am enjoying many things about gardening so far, but there is definitely a learning curve. I think if I had to water twice a day everything would die. 🙂 Best wishes and thanks for commenting!

    Reply
  5. Lisa

    Yum, looks delish Rachel. Came over to visit my fellow, I’m-not-sure-why-I-am-doing-this-blogger-friend! It’s lovely over here. Your children are so adorable. There’s nothing like fresh food from the garden, when the wild critters don’t get it. Can you borrow a few hens? They will eat up all the bugs. You have to watch that they don’t eat the vegetables too though.

    Reply
  6. JustToSay

    Lisa, Hens would be wonderful. I have mentioned getting a few to my husband, but he’s still in the “I Hope She’s Not Serious” phase. I never thought about borrowing some! Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

