Chimpanzee

MV5BMjA1MjMzMjA3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTU3NDU5Ng@@._V1._SY317_
took the kids to see the movie “Chimpanzee” yesterday.  My brother told me about it last weekend and I thought it would be a perfect fit for our homeschool because my fourth grader and I are discussing primates.

The kids enjoyed it immensely, and I must say I was fascinated.  I loved seeing the chimpanzees in action – watching them crack open nuts with rocks, watching them interact, care for their babies, and make nests in the tree tops.  I don’t think I’ve ever looked closely at a chimpanzee, either.  When the chimp-baby Oscar stretched his hands above his head, his little rib cage looked positively human.  

There were some intense sequences, with rival bands fighting, but there was no gore.  The most gory part was learning that chimpanzees eat other monkeys – and watching them hunt for one.  That was a bit unsettling to my children.  

Chimpanzee is narrated by Tim Allen and I thought the script was comfortably casual, informative and interesting.  There was one time he called one of the chimps an “idiot” that seemed a little out of place in my opinion.

I did like that as the credits roll you see some footage of the videographers. 

It was Wigeon’s first movie.  She enjoyed the popcorn and nachos most of all, but found the “monkeys” pretty interesting.  The only sequences that seemed to bother her were the ones that included chimpanzees doing their “Oo, oo, oo, oo, AH, AH, AH, AHHH” thing.

Have you seen Chimpanzee?  What did you think?

 

One thought on “Chimpanzee

  1. Rosemary

    I’m planning to take the girls soon! Elsa wrote a “research paper” on Jane Goodall recently, and I want to follow up on the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

