Ready for Seeds

We finished the bulk of our square foot garden preparations on Monday.  The weather was lovely and rain was in the forecast for the rest of the week, so it was crunch time.

We started by attaching trellis frames to the back of each square.  As we worked, I noticed that one of the beds was particularly shaded so I opted to move it into a sunnier spot and remove its trellis.

After Teal and Pintail determined how much soil we would need by calculating the volume of each box, we went to the local garden shop and bought our soil components; compost, vermiculite, and peat moss.  Mixing them together in the beds was dirty work, but I think everyone enjoyed being up to their elbows in the soil. (Note; I don’t have pictures of the real hands-on mixing because it was hands-on.)

IMG_1404

IMG_1405

IMG_1409

IMG_1408

All we have left to do is nail the wood on to divide our beds into sixteen squares, plant seeds, and cover the beds with netting to keep the birds and deer out.  As I mentioned yesterday, our first seedlings died, but I’m still hoping we have time to get a few vegetables this year at least!

IMG_1411

IMG_1416
Do you grow from seeds?  Do I need to invest in grow lights?  Is there a website you can recommend that has outdoor planting dates for Utah?  I have been going by the information on the left side of the Utah Seed Exchange website.

Have a terrific afternoon!

2 thoughts on “Ready for Seeds

  1. Sara

    I know I’ve said it before, but your boxes look really fantastic! When we had a garden in SLC, we grew most everything from seed. The only starts we had were tomatoes and peppers, which a friend of ours had grown from seed. It was a long time ago, but I think I used a gardening book with zone information for the planting dates. I do remember we had spinach under a cold frame in February– that was exciting!

    Reply
  2. JustToSay

    Hi Sara! I’m just hoping something grows as this is my first foray into gardening. I didn’t think of spinach in a cold frame, and I’m glad you mentioned it. I was planning to try carrots in a cold frame because my grandma said they are so sweet when left in the cold winter ground. Thank you again for popping by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

