Guardians of the Hearth

A few days ago, two of my friends who are assigned to check on me monthly and share a monthly message from the women’s organization of the church to which I belong came over.  The message was entitled “Guardians of the Hearth,” and was a beautiful reminder of the important work that is mothering.

The message opened with a quote from Gordon B. Hinckley:

You are the guardians of the hearth…You are the bearers of the children.  You are they who nurture them and establish within them the habits of their lives.  No other work reaches so close to divinity as does the nurturing of the sons and daughters of God.  

I find such power in that statement, and such responsibility. For me, the questions arise:  What does nurturing mean?  How am I doing in my call to nurture my children?   What habits am I instilling within my children that they can carry throughout their lives?  Is my example showing my children that I am striving to be a better version of myself every day? 

 A hearth is not only the warm spot in front of the fire. It generally means a home, but it can also mean a “vital or creative center.”  I want my “hearth” to be a combination of the three meanings; a home that is a creative and vital center filled with warmth!

May God bless us in this endeavor and forgive us when we fall short.

 

Leave a Reply

