Norse Myths Wrap-Up

Teal completed the last of the Norse Myths study on Friday. We did a very standard Waldorf style block with stories, drawings or other forms of art to enrich the stories, and summaries recorded into a Main Lesson Book.   The final product was a two-and-a-half-volume Main Lesson Book of the Norse Myths illustrated and summarized using inspiration from the D’Aulaires’ Book of Norse Myths. 

During this block, Teal also memorized parts of “The Challenge of Thor” by Longfellow and pieces from “The Poetic Edda”.  We listened to “Ride of the Valkyries” by Wagner, practiced drawing Celtic knots, and used a wood burner to burn the Futhark (runes) onto wooden coins.  We listened to “The Immigrant Song” by Led Zeppelin nearly one hundred times because Robert Plant croons “Valhalla, I am coming.”  We also thought he sang, “whispered tales of Thor,” but I just discovered it’s, “whispered tales of gore.” Ew.  I don’t think I’ll let the kids in on that, yet.

Here are some pictures from Teal’s books that I really liked.

Odin.

IMG_0893

Thor.

IMG_0896

Loki.

IMG_0898

The Valkyries.  (She got a huge kick out of drawing the battle scene, and check out the coconut top – not sure where that came from…lol.)

IMG_0902

Freya.  (Her necklace is a four-lobed knot.)

IMG_0904

We enjoyed this block and I think the stories of the Norse Gods with human foibles were very appropriate for my ten-year-old.

5 thoughts on “Norse Myths Wrap-Up

  1. Alyss

    This is really cool! I love that necklace on Freya. Very nice. There is a really neat episode of Radiolab, a great public radio program, on Wagner’s ring cycle of operas, where Ride of the Valkyries is from. I’m not sure if it is right for Emmaline, but you might really love it. You can download podcasts free on iTunes or from the NPR website. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  2. Sara

    These are wonderful. I love how expressive her drawings are– she has captured the essence of Loki perfectly! And I love the battle scene, too. Thanks so much for sharing these with us!

    Reply
  3. JustToSay

    Alyss, Thanks so much for visiting and for the information on the Wagner operas. I will check it out! 🙂
    Sara, Thank you for your nice comment and for popping over! I have been thinking about how nicely written your daughter’s MLB summaries were, too. Do you pencil in lines as guides? We’re doing that in the Local Geography History MLB right now and I like the difference. Have a nice day!

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    I saw the link here from Sara’s blog and took a peek. What fabulous pictures! I look forward to reading your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

